For the record. . .

I am still alive and kicking. This semester seems a bit easier to handle than last semester, though I’m still not handling all the grading well. I am the ultimate procrastinator when it comes to grading. . .it’s not that I don’t want to read and respond to the essay; I really enjoy seeing what my students have created in my classes. It the assessment part that pains me. After 8 1/2 years of teaching, putting a letter at the end of a draft has not yet become second nature. I can quickly look at a text and tell what went well and what needs improvement, but I loathe the final step. . .which is why, after 2 weeks, I am just now starting to grade my first round of papers (this also means I have to grade quickly, as my students are getting a little anxious to see their first grades in the course).

Blergh. . .the things we do.

 

I am an associate professor of English and writing center coordinator at Southwestern Oklahoma State University. I teach courses in composition, creative nonfiction, fundamentals of English, and peer tutoring.

Posted in How it’s going, Me, Students, teaching

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

